Polaris General Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been home for a month due to the Covid-19 pandemic so I found some time to finish projects around the house and start some new ones that I just plain wanted To Do. One of the To Do's was add some more bling to the YEET. I seen in the forum that a few of the Generals have Rock Lights installed and they look pretty neat. I Purchased an 8 light set of the Mictuning C1 RGBW Rock Lights off of Amazon and they arrived in a couple of days...so they must be essential items to Amazon.

I studied the forum to get ideas on mounting but no one seemed to cover that part. They just posted pictures of the after. Some mentioned that they just zip tied one or two lights up in the wheel wells and were done with it. Others drilled holes and mounted the lights with screws as the manufacturer intended. I decided to just get out and do it instead of overthinking it.

In the front wheel wells I looked for a place above the tire and found a gusset where two metal tubes of the cage were joined together. It looked like a good spot and then I found a second spot on the inner fender with access to the compartment under the hood of the Polaris where I planned to mount the controller.

I scrounged around the garage and found some lightweight angle bracket leftover from a garage door opener installation and made two small brackets as backing plates to clamp the light to the Gusset. Then I went to Lowe's and purchased an assortment of #8-32 stainless machine screws at lengths from 1/2" to 2" and some Nylock nuts to keep them tight. The kit came with some M4-25mm screws and nuts but I thought they would rattle off in no time.

A 3" piece of 5/8" angle bracket with 1/2" hole and two 3/16"
holes drilled for #8-32 screws

Bracket used to clamp the Pod light to the Gusset so that the light shines on the
shocks. An #8-32 x 2" machine screw in foreground and #8-32 x 1-1/2" in back