Polaris General Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

· Registered
2017 G2 1000
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I've been stalking this forum for about 4 years, since I bought my 17 G2 so I figured it was time to make an account.

I installed the inferno in my G2 yesterday. I did not purchase the extender kit for extra hoses. I figure I'll see how it does and it's easy enough to add in the future since it looks like I'll be able to do it all through the accessories cubby where the RC is on newer models.

Tools that made this job much easier are some push pin pliers and hose squeeze clamps. Both available at Napa or online.

The whole thing took me about 6 hours but while I was into it I also replaced switches in my dash, cleaned up the previous owners wiring and installed BFabs mirror/light bracket with some pods. I just swapped my old seismic mirrors over from the old ones.
Also slapped on BFabs clutch Intake guard but that only took a minute.

Here's some tips:
-Take out more push pins in the dash than you think you need. It's a bit of a tight fit anyways so the extra room really helps. I also left my Ryfab windshield on throughout the whole install and managed to do it. Hindsight is 20/20 because I pulled it anyway for the ditch light brackets.
Material property Auto part Font Metal Automotive wheel system

-if you do have a windshield to remove or brackets to install that require removing those 2 cage bolts per side - shove a shop rag against the nuts between the cage and the dash. I spent far too long chasing nuts I dropped into the machine.

- when Installing the heater core itself. Bring it up though the passenger footwell.
I don't thing you would need to remove its mounting bracket this way and save yourself some time. I dropped it down though the dash and it was a tight fit puzzle but I did it. Then I looked over and kicked myself for not going through the footwell.