My new TOY - Polaris General 1000 Forum
 23Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 21 (permalink) Old 04-06-2017, 04:56 PM Thread Starter

My new TOY

I just stared doing some serious trail riding with all my buddy's who have 4 seat RZR's The Ranger I had was not up to the task. I was able to hang with them on the seriously rough stuff only because I have lots of experience 4 wheeling and desert racing a dirt bike. When I got home I told the wife I needed to get something more trail capable but also to use for hunting and utility. We decided to trade the Ranger in on a new General base model so we could add the stuff we wanted to it. As soon as I got home my wife said that thing looks like a little red wagon. I said do you mean like the Radio Flyer wagon. She said that's it this thing is going to be called the Radio Flyer. Now I have to find a decal so I can put that on it.

Here are some of the upgrades I have done already and should be getting all of the parts I ordered on Friday.

First mod was to try a different sets of wheels for the stock tires (which are not bad). I scored a set of 12" wheels off a 900 RZR for $75 and they look pretty good. I was then able to pick up two sets of 29" Maxxis Bighorns on RZR 14" wheels for $200. When I took the stock tires to the dealer to switch the rims the service guy asked me if I wanted a set of brand new take off 28x10x14 STI Chicane RX dot tires for $100 "Heck yeah I do" So I mounted the Chicane tires on the 7" RZR rims and installed them on the General.

I drove it around a bit and am not sure if I like they way the Chicane's ride. I may just go back to the 29" Bighorns instead. The stock tires I will either sell or keep for spares.

I will mostly be doing trail riding in the desert here in Southern Arizona and some serious rock crawling on rough jeep trails. Some riding up in the mountains also. Which of the tires that I have would be the best choice for this type of riding.